The Inkling of Spring

Today marks the first sabbat of the new calendar year. Imbolc, a Celtic celebration honoring the Goddess Brigid that just so happens to fall right between Winter Solstice and Spring Equinox. It’s a time when we can start to see the natural world rustling a little from its dark, wintery slumber. The crocuses and daffodils might start popping out of the frozen earth, the days become ever so slightly longer and if you live a more agricultural life it’s also a time when your baby animals are born and mothers are lactating to feed their young.

20130202-105033.jpg

(Photo from my personal cameraroll of pastoral Ireland, County Kerry, 2008.)

I’ve always been very connected to the Goddess Brigid. She’s a fire Goddess and is a patron of the arts (spark of inspiration), black smithing (forging your ideas) and medicine (healing). My Irish Godmothers name is also Brigid so I have a very positive, nurturing association with her. Brigid has always been a spitfire and a huge supportive presence in my life. Whatever I created she always loved and encouraged me to pursue.

Being a spiritually minded person, I’m always looking at the ways in which my path mirrors my inner world and the outer world. Coincidences and synchronicities are constantly around me but I often wonder if these things don’t happen to me more than most folks, it’s just that I have an awareness so I simply notice mine more. I used to think I was a delinquent witch, not really setting up altars or doing proper rituals for all of the Sabbats and the moons. Until I realized my life is one living, breathing ritual. Everything I do is steeped in my beliefs and world-view. I see signs, patterns and omens in nature and I take them to heart. To me those things are ways of Spirit telling me if I’m on the right path or going astray.

I do keep altars in my home, it keeps me centered. I get daily visual reminders of the things I chose to keep close and the things I am trying to manifest in my life. You’ll always see an area devoted to my Goddesses, a smaller working altar for spell work and a larger ancestral altar (gee I wonder why those sugar skulls keep coming…). If you are a client then I’m sure you’ve noticed that I also keep an altar with candles going in my workspace as well. It just keeps me focused and helps that “good mojo” to flow.

20130202-105049.jpg

(Above, featured are some of my altars at home.)

In the light of reforming my delinquent witchy ways, I hereby declare this blog as sacred space and yet another “altar” of mine. This will be a place where I can share a bit about the things I celebrate spiritually and how those things show through in my work.

Here are a couple of tattoos from just this week. A little springtime, floral beauty to get you all excited about the returning of the sun and longer days to come.

20130202-104430.jpg

20130202-104442.jpg

2 thoughts on “The Inkling of Spring

  1. I am not sure if you are the Scarlet that did my Tattoo and my daughters. If you are the Scarlet that worked on Hempstead Tpk. I want to thank you for such a beautiful Tattoo everyone that see my Tattoo say what a beautiful Rose. I would like to say thank you and I love my Tattoo today as much as I did the day you did it about 4 years ago. We gave your web site and phone number to a few people but I told them I don’t know were you are now. I hope all is well. God Bless.

    • Hi Deborah! Glad you found me. I indeed used to work on Hempstead Tpke. I’m now working in Brooklyn, still got a lot of my L.I. clients travelling to me. So glad you still love your tattoo! Keep in touch 🙂

Leave a Reply

